How Things Come Together

How Things Come Together is a collection, in three parts, of essays and occasional writings by Hanna Newcombe.


The nine axioms of algebra are:

1. Associativity (distributive law)

2. Identity element for addition (e.g. zero)

3. Identity element for multiplication (e.g. 1)

4. Additive inverses (i.e. negatives)

5. Multiplicative inverses (i.e. reciprocals)

6. Commutative law for addition

7. Commutative law for multiplication

8. Total ordering


9. (Least) upper bounds for sets.

The (8 + 1) dimensions of social reality:

1. State and Laws

2. Community and Ethics

3. Family and Love

4. Human and Hope

5. Mankind and Conscience

6. Nature and Religion

7. Universe and Faith

8. God and Deliverance


9. Beyond dimension

We shall not cease from exploration

And the end of all our exploring

Will be to arrive where we started

And know the place for the first time.

T.S. Eliot

* The sequence of the nine Axioms is from Hanna Newcombe

This entry was posted in standard. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s